Wednesday, December 12, 2007

1st Division Chess League: Round 1

The games of the 1st Division Chess League-2007 began yesterday (Wednesday) at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. 14 teams are participating in the tournament, which is being held in round robin system. Reigning champion Bangladesh Biman beat reigning runners-up Leonine Chess Club by 2½-1½ points in their 1st round game. GM Ziaur Rahman of Biman drew with Indian GM Neelotpal Das of Leonine. GM Abdullah Al Rakib of Biman beat FM Kh. Aminul Islam of Leonine, Abdul Maleq of Leonine beat FM Mehdi Hasan Parag of Biman and FM Abu Sufian Shakil of Biman beat Mainuddin Ahmed of Leonine. Destiny 2000 Limited drew with Chittagong Mohammadan Sporting Club by 2-2 points. IM Enamul Hossain Razib of Destiny beat IM Roktim Bandyopadhyay of Chittagong Mohammadan, FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman of Chittagong Mohammadan beat FM Taibur Rahman of Destiny. FM Sk. Nasir Ahmed and Mohammad Javed of Destiny drew accordingly with Indian IM Saprathi Roy and Md. Ali Chittagong Mohammadan. Mohakhali Prodip Sangah beat Sultana Kamal Smiriti Pathagar by 4-0 points, Pritam Prijam Chess Club beat Toyota Motors Chess Club by 3½-½ points, Sonali Bank Sports & Recreation Club beat Dhaka University Chess Club by 2½-1½ points, Farashgonj Sporting Club beat Faith Chess Club by 2½-1½ points and Friends Chess Power drew with i2 soft Solution Ltd. by 2-2 points.
2nd round games will start today (Thursday) from 3:30 PM at the same venue.

No comments: