Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Spain Probashi Rapid Chess Tournament

Rapid Chess tournament sponsored by Spain Probashi Daba Samaj with the assistance of Bangladesh Chess Federation will start on Friday at 10:00 AM at the chess hall-room. It's an open event for all chess players. Interested chess players can enroll their name with one hundred fifty taka entry fee (Lunch is included) on or before 19th February Thursday at the hall-room of Bangladesh Chess Federation. The event will be held in Swiss-League system. This is an one day event and total twenty three thousand five hundred taka will be given to the winners as prize money.


Main Event:

1st Prize : 4000 Tk.
2nd Prize: 3000 Tk.
3rd Prize: 2500 Tk
4th Prize: 2000 Tk
5th Prize: 1500 Tk.
6th-8th Prize: 1000 Tk. each
9th-10th Prize: 500 Tk. each

Catagory :

Rating: 2001-2100 : 1000 Tk.
Rating : 1801-2000: 1000 Tk.
Rating : 1401-1800: 1000 Tk.
Woman: 1st - 1000 Tk.
2nd- 500 Tk.
Under 16 : 500 Tk.
Under 10: 500 Tk.
Best Unrated : 1000 Tk.

Total : 23500 Tk.

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Preliminary Phase of the 30th National Women Chess Championship-2009

The Preliminary Phase of the Parachute 30th National Women Chess Championship-2009, sponsored by Marico Bangladesh Ltd. and organised by Bangladesh Chess Federation started today (Sunday) at Chess Federation hall-room. 28 players of Dhaka, Rajshahi, Barisal, Narayangonj, Manikgonj, Barisal, Brahmmanbaria, Moulovi Bazar, Pabna, Aporajeyo Bangladesh (Girls Hostel) are participating in the event. 14 players won their 1st round game and earned full point. They are: Eva, Zakia, Shirin, Masuda, Annei. Mimi, Mithila, Runu, Titli, Ahely, Amena, Protiva, Reshma, Sonya. In the 1st round game: Eva beat Tisha, Zakia beat Munia, Shirin beat Rafiaya, Amena beat Nupur, Masuda beat Doly, Anne beat Farhana, Mimi beat Ferdousy, Mithila beat Feroza, Runu beat Khodeja, Titli beat Khorsheda, Ahely beat Liza, Protiva beat Monthi, Reshma beat Moyna. Sonia beat Tani. The event is being held in 7 Swiss-League system and top 8 players will qualify in the final-phase. Reigning Champion IWM Rani Hamid, Runner-up WFM Samima Akter Liza, Rated WFM Syeda Shabana Parveen Nipa and WFM Tanima Parveen will participate directly in the Final-Phase

Begum Laila Alam 3rd Open FIDE Rating Women Chess Tournament

Begum Laila Alam 3rd Open FIDE Rating Women Chess Tournament, sponsored by former chess players Begum Laila Alam will start from 15th February Sunday at 3:30 PM. It’s an open event for women and girls and entry fee is not required. Interested woman and girl can enroll their name on or before 14th February Saturday at Bangladesh Chess Federation office. The event will be held in Swiss-League system and cash prizes will be given to the winners.

Sagor wins Junior championship for the 3rd time!!

FIDE Master Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar of Destiny 2000 Limited became unbeaten champion in the BASIC BANK 30th National Junior (Under-20 years) Boy & Girls Chess Championship-2009, sponsored by BASIC Bank Limited which was held at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. Sagar earned 8½ points to clinch the Junior title.Woman Runner-up Shamima Akter Liza of Overseas School became runner-up with 8 points. The championship saw race between Sagar and Liza. Sagar dropped 1/2 point early in the tournament and Liza took the lead till they eventually met in round seven which turned out to be the decisive game for the title. In Sicilian Taimanov Liza saced a pawn with black pieces to gain some initiative on the king side which became decisive due to Sagar's uncertain play but in time pressure Liza failed to deliver the final blow and after further mistakes she ended up in a lost position which Sagar exploited by exact play to pull off the game and effectively the title.

NameFED Rtg Pts. TB1
1FMMinhazuddin AhmedBAN 2349 8,5 41,5
2WFMShamima Akter LizaBAN 2073 8,0 42,0
Md Sharif HossainBAN 2014 7,0 39,0
Mohammad SagarBAN 1950 7,0 38,0
Masum HossainBAN 2000 7,0 36,0
S M SharonBAN 0 7,0 35,0

Rakib Hasan RanaBAN 0 7,0 35,0
Olid Bin ManjilBAN 0 7,0 34,5
Md MejbahuddinBAN 0 7,0 31,0
Ali Mohammad ImranBAN 2156 6,5 37,5

Ikramul Haque SiamBAN 1954 6,5 37,5
Zoar Haque PradhanBAN 0 6,5 27,5
Abdullah Al-SaifBAN 2063 6,0 38,0
Islam Rezaul BabuBAN 1971 6,0 36,0
Md AshrafuzzamanBAN 1826 6,0 35,0

Md Nurul Islam MahinBAN 1823 6,0 35,0

Ahely SarkarBAN 0 6,0 35,0
Shah Jalal FarukiBAN 1930 6,0 34,0
Md Emdadul HaqueBAN 0 6,0 31,0

Md Rashel HossainBAN 0 6,0 31,0

Sharmin Akter RangpurBAN 0 6,0 31,0

Syed Tanjid MehediBAN 0 6,0 31,0