Tuesday, October 28, 2008

1st UK Probashi open International Rating Chess Tournament

1st UK Probashi open International Rating Chess Tournament, organised by Bangladesh Chess Player’s Cheritable Foundation, sponsored by Bangladeshi Chess players of overseas of UK will start from 3rd November Monday from 3:00 PM at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. It’s an open event for all chess players. Interested chess players can enroll their name on or before 1st November 2008 at Bangladesh Chess Federation office with entry fee. The event will be held in 9 round Swiss-League system and total forty thousand taka will be given to the winners as cash prize money.

2nd Division-2008

Basir Memorial and Jobs Vander qualified in the 1st Division Chess League for the year 2009.Basir Memorial Chess Club became champion.They earned 26½ points to clinch the title.Jobs Vander Dot Com became runners-up . Bangladesh Muktijuddah Sangsad Krira Chakra became 3rd. Jobs Vander and Muktijuddah earned 25½ points each. Jobs Vander beat Muktijuddah Sangsad by 5½-2½ points in 2 matches play-off games to became runners

Saturday, October 18, 2008

Prize Distribution-2008

The Prize distribution for the Dutch Bangla 1st Division Chess League, 2nd Division Chess League and National Women Chess Championship was held yesterday (Saturday) at the Conference-Room of National Sports Council. Dr. Hossain Zillur Rahman, Honorable Adviser Ministry of Education and Commerce of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh distributed prizes among the winners to present as chief guest. Mr. A.H.M Nazmul Quadeer, Additional Managing Director of Dutch-Bangla Bank Limited, Major General (Retd.) Amin Ahmed Chowdhury Bir Bikram, Sector Commander and Adviser of Bangladesh Muktijuddah Sangsad and Mr. Soumendra Sankar Das, Head of Marketing of Marco Bangladesh Limited were present as special guests. Mr. Md. Abdus Salam Khan President Bangladesh Chess Federation and Rector of BPATC presided the ceremony and Mr. Jamilur Rahman, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation gave address. 2008 National Woman Champion IWM Rani Hamid, Runner-up Samima Akter Liza and 3rd Nazrana Khan Eva, 2007 Dutch-Bangla 1st Division Chess League Champion Bangladesh Biman, Runners-up Leonine Chess Club, 3rd-Destiny 2000, winners of National Women from 2005 to 20008 and winners of Dutch-Bangla 1st Division Chess League from 2004 to 2007 and 2nd Division Chess League from 2004 to 2007 get their prizes.

Monday, October 6, 2008

Bronze Medal by Razib in Commonwealth Chess!

GM Enamul Hossain Razib of Destiny achieved bronze medal in the Commonwealth Chess Championship. He earned 8½ points and became 3rd after scoring the final round victory over M S Thejkumar of India. Razib got one lakh Indian Rupees as prize money. British GM Nigel Short became champion with 9½ points. Nigel Short got Gold Medal and one lakh eighty thousand Indian Rupees. GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly of India became runner-up with 9 points. Ganguly got Silver Medal and one lakh twenty five thousand Indian Rupees. GM Ziaur Rahman of Biman became 14th with 8 points. GM Niaz Murshed of Leonine became 46th with 7 points. FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman Emon of Chittagong Mohammadan became 80th with 6½ points, Debaraj Chatterjee of Destiny became 81st with 6½ points, FM Taibur Rahman of Destiny became 86th with 6 points, Mohammad Javed of Destiny 105th, FM Mehdi Hasan Parag of Biman became 119th and & FM Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar of Destiny became 126th with 5½ points each. In the last round games: Zia beat IM Ashwin Jayaram of India, Niaz lost against Vidit Santosh Gujrathi, Emon lost against B T Murali Krishnan of India, Debaraj beat Raghavi of India, Sagar drew with Darpan Inani of India, Taibur beat Rishi Thariani of India, Javed Lobo Rechird of England and Parag beat Niji of India.

Final place (top 20): 1. GM Nigel Short (Eng,Gold) 9.5/11, 2. GM S.S. Ganguly (Ind,Silver) 9, 3. GM Enamul Hossain (Ban,Bronze) 8.5, 4-15. IM Arun Prasad (Ind), IM M.R. Venkatesh (Ind), IM Gogineni Rohith (Ind), FM Vidit Gujrathi (Ind), GM Parimarjan Negi (Ind), IM R.R. Laxman (Ind), IM Deep Sengupta (Ind), GM Deepan Chakkravarthy (Ind), IM P.D.S. Girinath (Ind), GM P. Magesh Chandran (Ind), GM Ziaur Rahman (Ban), GM Neelotpal Das (Ind) 8 each, 16-27. B.T. Muralikrishnan (Ind), FM K. Priyadarshan (Ind), GM Abhijit Kunte (Ind), GM Dibyendu Barua (Ind), IM Ashwin Jayaram (Ind), GM Abhijeet Gupta (Ind), IM Saptarshi Roy (Ind), IM D.P.Singh (Ind), M.S. Thejkumar (Ind), IM Lanka Ravi (Ind), Tejas Ravichandran (Ind), IM Himanshu Sharma (Ind) 7.5 each

Women: 1 WGM S. Meenakshi (Ind, gold), 2. WIM Kiran Mohanty (Ind, silver), 3. WGM Eesha Karavade (Ind, bronze) all 7/11 each

2nd Division-2008

2nd Division Chess League-2008, organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation will start from 15th October at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. It is an open event for all club and teams. Interested clubs or teams can enroll their name on or before 13th October at Bangladesh Chess Federation office (2nd floor, Krira Bhavan, National Sports Council, 62/3 Purana Paltan, Dhaka-1000) with four hundred sixty taka entry and registration fee. The event will be held in Swiss-League system and top 2 teams will qualify in the 1st Division Chess League for the year 2009.