Wednesday, July 16, 2008

School Chess : Final result

Abhropratim Manna of Kolkata Don Bossco School of Kokata became unbeaten champion in the Class VI to X group of the 10th Standard Chartered School Chess Tournament.He earned 8½ points to clinch the title. Abdullah Al Saif of Quality Educational School became runner-up with 7½ points. 3 players earned 7 points each. Their position’s are: 3rd-Nikesh Duwal of Nepal, 4th-Shahidul Alam Abir of Wills Little Flowers School and 5th- Rakib Hossain Rana of St. Gregarious School. 3 players earned 6½ points each. They are position’s are: 6th-Asim Roy of Tripura, 7th-Rupesh Jaiswal of Nepal and 8th-Md. Shariatullah of Mohammad Shahidullah School. 16 players earned 6 points each. Their position’s are: 9th-Rezaul Islam Babu, 10th-Mosabbir Khan Shiblu, 11th-Debitpal Dey, 12th-Sifat Hossain, 13th-Ikramul Haque Siam, 14th-Shubam Das, 15th-Aurnob, 16th-Moin Uddin, 17th-Zoar, 18th-Raju Ahmed, 19th-Tarek, 20th-Ashrafil Moin, 21st-Mohammad Kawsar, 22nd-Sayed Md. Junayed, 23rd-Ahmed Imtiaz Rayes, amd 24th-Mohammad Saddam Hossain. Sayan Majumder of Indira Gandhi School became unbeaten champion in the group KG to V. Sayan earned 8½ points to clinch the title. Aditya Chakraborty of Delhi Public School became runner-up with 7½ points. 3 players earned 7 points each. Their positions are: 3rd-Mohammad Fahim of Titas School, 4th-Mitrabha Guha of South Point School and 5th-Afzal of Aporajeyo Bangladesh.6 players earned 6th to 11th position with 6 points each. They are: Swargajyoti Gan, Emam Hossain Santa, Dahad Rahman, Mokshedul, Debdeep Das and Kazi Md. Irshad. 3players got 12th to 14th position with 5½ points. They are: Md. Bappi, Al-Amin and Nayeem. In last round of VI to X group, Abhropratim drew with Saif, Abir beat Babu, Asim drew with Jaiswal, Nikesh beat Aurnob, Rana beat Tarek. In the KG to V group Sayan beat Fahad, Mitrobah beat Asitya, Dahim Santa and Afzal beat Alfaz. Mohona Sengupta of Binodini Girls High School became unbeaten champion in the girls section with 6 points.Shaati Majumder of Indira Gandhi Memorial became runner-up with same points. Total 214 students from India, Nepal and Bangladesh participated in the event. One lakh taka prize money and tropies weew given to the winners. The prize giving ceremony was held from 5:00 PM at the conference-room of National Sports Council. Honorable Governor of Bangladesh Bank Dr. Salehuddin Ahmed distributed prizes among the winners. Mr. Ahmed Ali Shah, Managing Director, Origination & Client Coverage, Standard Chartered Bank, Col. (Retd.) Md. Wali Ullah, Director and C.E.O of Bangladesh Olympic Association were present as special guests. Syed Aziz Ahmed, Vice-President of Bangladesh Chess Federation presided the ceremony and Mr. Jamilur Rahman, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation gave address in the ceremony

No comments: