Saturday, December 6, 2008

Parag champion in Prime Bank Rating Chess

FM Mehdi Hasan Parag of Biman became champion in the Prime Bank 11th Open International Rating Chess Tournament which was held at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. Parag earned 8 points to clinch the title. Sohel Chowdhury of Pritam Prijam Chess Club became runner-up with 7½ points. 7 players earned 7 points each. Their tie were broken by tie-breaking system. Their positions are: 3rd-Mahtabuddin Ahmed Robin, 4th-Obaidul Islam Shahin of Jobs Vander, 5th-Abdul Momin of Sirajgonj, 6th-FM Abu Sufian Shakil of Biman, 7th-FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman Emon of Chittagong Mohammedan, 8th-Feroz Ahmed of Narayangonj and 9th-Mohammad Majed of Farashgonj. 5 players earned 6½ points each. Their positions are: 10th-Monir Hossain, 11th-Jamal Ahmed, 12th-Farhadur Imam, 13th-Mohammad Ali and 14th-Shamim Khan. 11 players earned 6 points each and got 15th to 25th positions. They are: Abdullah Al Saif, Md. Sharif Hossain, Mohammed Hafizul Islam Chapal, FM Rezaul Haque, Sharmin Sultana Shirin, Uten, Mokaddesur Rahman Khan, Amirul Islam Chowdhury, Carol Chowdhury, Tofazzal Hossain and Ashraful Alam. 9th or last round games were held yesterday (Saturday). In the 9th round games: Parag beat Emon, Sohel beat Shakil, Shahin drew with Majed, Feroz beat Reza, Robin beat Chapal, Momin beat Uten, Monir beat Sharif, Ali beat Shameem, Shamim Khan beat Arman, Jamal beat Rashed, Farhad beat Lipon, Saif beat Ullash, Mokaddes beat Nahid, Ashraful beat Shamsul, Shrin beat Alamgir, Amirul beat Hanif and Tofazal beat Jewel. The Prize distribution ceremony was held yesterday noon at the conference-room of National Sports Council. Former foreign Secretary and former Ambassador Muhammad Zamir was present as chief guest in the prize distribution ceremony. Mr. M. Ehsanul Haque Managing Director of Prime Bank Limited and Mr. Jamilur Rahman, General Secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation were present as special guests. Mr. Syed Shujauddin Ahmed, former President of Bangladesh Chess Federation presided the ceremony and Mr. Monzur Hossain Zimmu, General Secretary of Leonine Chess Club gave address in the ceremony. Total 127 chess players participated in the event and cash prizes given to the winners.