Sunday, May 18, 2008

New GM:Enamul Hossain Razib!!

Enamul Hossain Razib has achieved his 3rd GM norm from the Final Phase of the 34th National Chess Cahmpionship-2008. He beat GM Reefat Bin Sattar in the last round to achieve the final norm. The final game continued in the Classical system of French defence and Razib,playing with white pieces, won at 41st move. Razib got his first GM norm from the 35th Chess Olyampiad in Bled, Slovenia and 2nd one from Masters Chess Tournament in Abu Dhabi ,U.A.E.Now he has to just wait for the formal approval of FIDE to officially get the title.

FM Abu Sufian Shakil of Biman and FM Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar achieved 12 games IM norm from this event.

GM Ziaur Rahman became champion with 11 points.This is Zia's 10th crown. Razib became runner up.Another positions:
3rd: GM Abdullah Al Rakib
4th: FM Abu Sufian Shakil
5th: FM Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar
6th: GM Reefat Bin Sattar
7th:FM Sk. Nasir Ahmed
8th: FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman Emon
9th: FM Mohammed Abdul Malek
10th: FM Mohammad Javed of Destiny
11th: Debaraj Chatterjee
12th: Monir Hossain
13th: Sohel Chowdhury

Roll of Honor:
1. 1974- Miah Abdus Salek,2. 1975- Dr. Mirza Akmal Hossain,3. 1976- Dr. Mirza Akmal Hossain, 1977- Not held,4. 1978- FIDE Master Rezaul Haque,5. 1979- Grandmaster Niaz Murshed,6. 1980- Grandmaster Niaz Murshed,7. 1981- Grandmaster Niaz Murshed,8. 1982- Grandmaster Niaz Murshed,9. 1983- FIDE Master Jamilur Rahman,10. 1984- FIDE Master Younus Hasan,11. 1985- Sayed Ahmed Sohel,12. 1986- International Master Zillur Rahman,13. 1987- International Master Zillur Rahman,14. 1988- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,15. 1989- FIDE Master Rezaul Haque,16. 1990- FIDE Master Syed Tahmidur Rahman,17. 1991- International Master Reefat Bin Sattar,18. 1992- International Master Reefat Bin Sattar,19. 1993- International Master Reefat Bin Sattar,20. 1994- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,21. 1995- International Master Reefat Bin Sattar,22. 1996- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,23. 1997- International Master Enamul Hossain,24. 1998- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,25. 1999- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,26. 2000- International Master Reefat Bin Sattar,27. 2001- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,28. 2002- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,29. 2003- International Master Reefat Bin Sattar,30. 2004- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,31. 2005- Grandmaster Ziaur Rahman,32. 2006-International Master Enamul Hossain,33. 2007- Grandmaster Abdullah Al Rakib and 2008-GM Ziaur Rahman.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Congratulations! We have got 3 GMs in 3 consecutive years.

Congrats on Zia's 10th national championship.

Also, Reefat's title should be marked as a GM. He is a GM and despite his job and family business (combinedly UN-social life!)he plays like a GM almost always.