Saturday, October 6, 2007

Rapid Chess Tournament-October

GM Ziaur Rahman of Biman became unbeaten champion in the Rapid Chess Tournament, organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation which was held in Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. Zia earned 6½ points to clinch the title. IM Enamul Hossain Razib of Chittagong Mohammadan became unbeaten runner-up with 6 points. Three players earned 5½ points each and their positions are: 3rd-FM Minhazuddin Ahmed Sagar of Destiny, 4th-GM Abdullah Al Rakib of Biman and 5th-FM Kh. Aminul Islam. 9 players earned 5 points each and got 6th-14th positions. They are: FM Abu Sufian Shakil, Arman Monir, Monir Hossain, Enayet Hossain, FM Mehdi Hasan, Shamsul Kabir Chowdhury, FM Sk. Nasir Ahmed, FM Rezaul Haque and Aminul Islam Polash. 5th, 6th and 7th round games were held yesterday (Monday). In the 7th round: Zia beat Arman, Razib beat Shakil, Amin drew with Sagar, Rakib beat Labu, Nasir beat Jamal, Polash beat Taibur, Parag beat Sawpan, Reza beat Kazal, Monir beat Zahid, Kabir beat Sohel and Enayet beat Afzal. The event was held in 7 round Swiss-League system and total twenty thousand taka cash prizes were given to the winners.

Rapid Chess Tournament, organized by Bangladesh Chess Federation will start today (Sunday) from 3:30 PM at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room. It is an open event for all chess players.Interested players can enroll their name today before start the games at playing venue. The event will be held in Swiss-League system and cash prizes will be given to the winners.

No comments: